Home > Humour, Movie Review, Podcast, Politics > Hot Fossils and Rebel Matters 194 – New York is Just Like Toronto With More Stuff

Hot Fossils and Rebel Matters 194 – New York is Just Like Toronto With More Stuff

Sunday, May 22, 2011 10:11 pm Leave a comment Go to comments

NYC Ground Zero May 6 2011 (Photo by Special K)

Listen to the show:

I haven’t posted a show in two months. I have some good reasons for that. For one thing I’ve been working hard and enjoying my new day job. I’ve also been spending time working on another new project http://threegratitudes.ninja-radio.com/. Every day I think of three things in my life to be grateful for and share them on the site. You would think that coming up with three things to be thankful for every day would be dead easy. It’s not. There is so much tragedy and negative things happening in the world and in my life every day, that to take delight, pleasure and gratitude in small and simple things around me can be tricky. Especially on a day to day basis when much of our days also take the form of eat, work, sleep, repeat. But I am persevering in this. I have seven months to go and then I’ll end the project. Until then, you can join me if you want in the project in various ways. You can email me at hotfrm@gmail.com with your gratitudes or comment on the site. Either way your gratitudes will make it to the project.

A New Concept in Fast Food (Photo by Ninja)

This month Special K and I took our friends Dragon and Fly to New York. Fly had never been there and it had been many years since Dragon had. In today’s segment, we visit an interesting restaurant for breakfast called 4Food – the purpose of which is to de-junk fast food. We run into many French tourists. The aim that day was to visit to Ground Zero the day after Obama visited on May 5, 2011. Surprisingly we were stopped by a journalist who interviewed us for Swiss Public Radio about 9/11. Bit of a switch for Ninja.  We also find out that there is a huge French community in New York. We talk about the movie Winter’s Bone and a class of humanity that are sometimes, but not often, represented in movies. Other movies discussed: Pulp Fiction, Deliverance, The Fly.  Food mentioned:  Pressed rice patties. Television Shows referred to:  Modern Family.  Broadcasters mentioned:  Swiss Public Radio, The CBC.

Links:  http://midtownlunch.com/   http://www.facebook.com/4food?sk=notes

Listen to the show


  1. Joe G.
    Monday, May 30, 2011 7:02 pm at 19:02

    I liked this episode a lot. I’m glad you talked about “Winter Bone”: glad that your friends also liked.

    I haven’t been to NYC since before 2001. It should be interesting to see what they do at Ground Zero.

    What is up with your friends and you recording? You’d think they’d be better trained by now!

    I love how you got an interview from someone who was interviewing you. Ha! You’re a true podcaster. He sounded cute, too. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

